From Deathwatch to Daemon Prince

Have you ever just had one of those days where you’ve been digging in your bits box and inspiration hits you? It can lead to great fun!

I began thinking about the models I will need to play an INQ28 narrative campaign. Heroes? Check, I had already begun slowly building two. Henchmen? Check again, the ones needed for the first episode just need paint. What was I missing that seemed so daunting? Season one’s big bad! I was trying to hard to find the right parts and look for him online. I wanted big. I wanted bad. I wanted a daemon prince. Trouble is, I hate the generic model.

Deciding it was time to really pay attention to this gaping hole in my cast, I began rummaging through my various tins and boxes. What I found was treasure.

I didn’t want my prince to be a fully in you face representation like the generic model or either of the primarchs. I wanted something that looked like a continuing evolution. I just didn’t know how I was going to achieve it. That’s when I hit pay dirt. In my bits box was an old 54mm Artemus figure from the Inquisitor game. This was destined to be the base of the project. Now, how was I going to evolve his look from a Deathwatch marine to a daemon prince?

Construction begins on the Daemon Prince

I kept the legs, torso, and eventually the head. After delving deeper into my stash I pulled out several arm options from the daemon prince box along with a tail, a set of wings, and armor plates. I had a set of hoofed feet that I just had to use. I have no idea where I got them from, but I thought it would be a nice detail to add.

The first thing to go were the power armored feet. Due to the fact that this model was all metal I had to use a large pair of cutters, a decent amount of strength, and a lot of patience. Once these were gone I cleaned everything up with a file. Several cuts were made to the hooves in order to get the right positioning. The result was great! I had managed to keep the running pose of the original model without making it look off or forced.

I tried all the arm options I had. In the end I used the ones which gave the most dynamic pose. After all, this is going to be an almost centerpiece model build. Better to do it right than to force the pieces. The goal was build a model I would enjoy, not one I would regret and tear apart later. Once the arms had been chosen I did some green stuff work to finish them out to the armor connections. This did not require a lot, just minor completions of muscle groups.

Construction from the back of the model

At this point I began adding body details. First wad the obvious pieces. The thigh plate laid right into place like the tasset plates on the current primaris and terminator armors. A small, but nice detail. I’ll always use the loin cloth if I can. There’s always so much story you can allude to with them. What I did not like was the base model’s skull buckle. I removed it and the deamon head from the loin cloth. I built my own buckle by shaving down the daemon prince belt to draw out the eight pointed star as the mist dominant piece. This was then added to the model. Lastly the tail from daemon prince box was cut to form and added to the rear of the model.

I still had that head to embellish. What was it going to take? In my bits was an old defiler mask. In the colors it already had it was just perfect. Straight over the face it went. I then covered the rest of the exposed head with a small layer of green stuff. A helmet will slowly appear here. As I am not the greatest sculptor, I’m going to take my time to get it right.

As you can see, this guy is still pretty rough. After I finish the obvious green stuff work needed he will get his wings (again from the daemon prince box). This guy will need a suitably dynamic base. Ideas are already being plotted and rolled around in my notebook. many details and embellishments are yet to come.

That’s all for this week. Now you know even chaos has to put out a call. One to request reinforcements!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started